The faculty of the Department of Music Theory comprises 14 full-time ranked faculty (including two dedicated to Keyboard Studies and two dedicated to Ear-Training) who hold degrees from, among other schools, the Eastman, Hartt, and Manhattan Schools of Music; the Peabody, Moscow, and New England Conservatories; Duke, Harvard, and Princeton Universities; and the Universities of Chicago, Maryland, Michigan, and Pennsylvania.

These faculty members are active members of the music-making community, many of whom are active as composers and performers in addition to pursuing their scholarship. They have presented papers at national and international conferences of organizations such as the Society for Music Theory and the American Musicological Society and have published through the Oxford University Press, Schirmer Music Books, and many other publishers and journals.

Lecturer Faculty