plus📅TriangleTriangleclockplusemailoutfaxinstagramlocationGroup 13phonepinterestplayplus💲search

Violinist Ahreum Kim is a dedicated artist-teacher in the Baltimore/Washington D.C. region. Ahreum received her bachelor, master, and doctorate degrees in violin performance at the Peabody Institute of the Johns Hopkins University where she was the graduate assistant to Herbert Greenberg. At Peabody, Ahreum received the J. C. Van Hulsteyn Award in Strings and the Diversity Recognition Award from Johns Hopkins President Ronald J. Daniels and the JHU Diversity Leadership Council for her outstanding contributions to diversity in supporting the Johns Hopkins legacy of excellence. Ahreum is also an alumna of the Young Artist Performance Academy at the Royal Conservatory of Music in Toronto.

Ahreum regularly performs in regional orchestras, chamber music with pianist Dr. Sophie Hong as a member of Duo Arca, and have premiered many works while performing for the Society for New Music in Syracuse, NY.  She performed in solo and chamber music master classes with Pamela Frank, Ani Kavafian, Boris Berman, and Victor Rosenbaum, and participated in music festivals in North America, including ISMA and Aspen. Ahreum is currently on faculty at the Peabody Preparatory of the Peabody Institute and a lead violin teacher at the Baltimore Symphony’s OrchKids. Ahreum also coaches strings at the Chesapeake Youth Symphony Orchestras and co-directs the Glen Mar Youth Orchestra. Ahreum previously taught violin, viola, and musicology as a full-time faculty at the State University of New York at Oswego where she was recognized as an “outstanding educator” from the Assistant Vice President of Residence Life in 2016.