November 29, 2016: Dean’s Incentive Grants

To Members of the Peabody Community,

I’m pleased to announce the winners of the second round of Dean’s Incentive Grants, designed to foster innovation, interdisciplinary initiatives and community connectivity, three of the four pillars of the Breakthrough Plan. Grants are funded for up to $15,000 for faculty initiatives and up to $5,000 for student initiatives, per project.

For this round six grants were awarded, three for students and three for faculty, from a pool of 13 student and seven faculty applications. I am delighted to announce the grant recipients and offer congratulations to each recipient.  I would also like to thank the members of the selection committees who carefully evaluated each application and its fit with the grant criteria.

Student Awardees


Mofan Lai (BM1, voice)
Project:  Building a Peabody WeChat Platform: Connecting with Music Students in China


Molly Wilkens-Reed (MM1, viola)
Project:  Composing Pedagogically Appropriate String Quartets for Intermediate Students


Jamie Leidwinger (MM1, composition) and Sam Torres (MM1, computer music)
Project: Social Issues of Place within the Musical Profession: A Podcast Series

Selection Committee:
Abra Bush, Linda Goodwin, Sarah Hoover, Michael Kannen, Paul Mathews, Joel Puckett, and Kyley Summer

Faculty Awardees


Judah Adashi, Conservatory and Preparatory music theory and composition faculty
Project: The Cross-Disciplinary Master Class Series


Marin Alsop, director of the Conservatory graduate conducting program, and Dan Trahey, Conservatory and Preparatory faculty, director of the Tuned-In Program
Project: Diverse Styles and Culturally Relevant Music: The String Repertoire Initiative


Douglas Buchanan, Conservatory music theory and musicology faculty
Project: A Street Choir for Baltimore

Selection Committee:
Fred Bronstein, Abra Bush, Sarah Hoover, Julia Marciari-Alexander (director of the Walters Art Museum), and Winston Tabb (JHU Sheridan Dean of University Libraries and Museums)

Please note that the next round applications is scheduled for the spring semester with a deadline of March 15, 2017.  Congratulations again to our awardees.


Fred Bronstein