In summer 2020, Dean Fred Bronstein shared a series of communications outlining Peabody’s deepened commitment to anti-racism, diversity, equity, and inclusion initiatives in response to the death of George Floyd. Among them was the formation of the Anti-racism, Diversity, Equity, and Inclusion Steering Committee. 

The Charge of the committee is:  

To oversee, advise, and ensure transparency and accountability for ongoing and new efforts in anti-racism and diversity, equity, and inclusion at Peabody including but not limited to the development of specific initiatives associated with DEI goals in the Breakthrough Plan 2024 as well as additional initiatives put forth since the launch of the plan – especially around fighting racism at Peabody and in the performing arts industry, as identified in the Dean’s Letter of June 5, 2020.

The current faculty, staff, and student members of the committee are:

Nilaya Baccus-Hairston, Conservatory registrar
Carl DuPont, assistant professor of voice
Sheila Esquivel, undergraduate student in violin
Sarah Hoover, associate dean for innovation in the arts and health
Cynthia Hu, undergraduate student in vocal performance
Kaijeh Johnson, undergraduate student in vocal performance and president of the Black Student Union
Ahlam Musa, instructor of liberal arts
Elijah Wirth, chair, Preparatory woodwinds faculty